top of page

How to make the perfect porridge

Warming, comforting and tasty. Those are words that I directly connect with porrige, wheather it's made with buckwheat, rice or the most common one, oats. Oats are lovely and as I vegan they are often a big part of my diet, and this is my go to breakfast recipe. It's simple yet delicous and you can very it just by adding in some dried berries or why not roasted nuts?

This porrige is:

Filling

Very delicous

Super simple

Cheap

Easy to very

Warming

Comforting

This is a porrige that is great for breakfast, a post workout snack or why not a simple lunch? I love to eat oatmeal porrige on cold and cozy days, and that's basically 3/4 of the year here in Sweden. Autumn is cold, winter is cold and spring is cold, yes in fect this Monday snow fell! In mars, well eventhough I would have liked a warmer climat I'm happy with days like today, with a clear blue sky and a shining sun there's not much to complain about. But of course you could enjoy this in warmer days aswell. Hope you enjoy the recipe, love Caroline

One big portion or two small portions:

1 cup or 2,4 dl water

1/2 cup or 1,2 dl rolled oats

2 tablespoons of dried fruit, or fresh fruit (optional)

2 tablespoons of chopped nuts (optional)

How to make the porrige:

Put the water, oats and optional other ingredients in a small pot, put on the stove on high heat until bubbles are spotted. Then turn the heat down to low and stir occasionaly, the porrige is done after about 5 minutes. If you like a more runny porrige add more water and if you like your porrige to be thicker cook it longer so that the water is reduced.

SOPHIE'S
COOKING TIPS

#1 

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

 

#2

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

 

#3

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

bottom of page